What are the Penalties for Reckless Driving?
- Posted on: Jun 8 2023
The state of Virginia takes reckless driving seriously, imposing steep penalties on those who are convicted of this crime. Therefore, if you have been charged with reckless driving in Virginia, it is imperative that you seek the assistance of an experienced Virginia criminal defense attorney as soon as possible. In this article, we examine the penalties for reckless driving in Virginia.
What is Reckless Driving?
Reckless driving in Virginia means going over the speed limit by 20 miles per hour or above. For example, if a road’s speed limit is 60 miles per hour, and a driver operates his or her vehicle at a speed of 80 miles per hour, then he or she may be charged with reckless driving. In addition, a person can receive a reckless driving charge for driving over 85 miles per hour, regardless of the posted speed limit. In other words, whether the speed limit is 40 or 70 miles per hour, anyone who drives at 85 miles per hour or above commits the crime of reckless driving.
In addition, driving in a manner that endangers life or property, regardless of speed, is considered reckless driving. So, depending on the circumstances, a person who is driving in a particularly dangerous manner—even if it is under the speed limit—can still be charged with reckless driving.
Reckless Driving Penalties
In Virginia, the crime of reckless driving is a Class 1 misdemeanor. The potential penalties for reckless driving in Virginia are a fine of up to $2,500 and up to a year in jail. In addition, following a reckless driving conviction, the court can suspend a person’s driver’s license for up to six months, and the driver can receive up to six points on his or her license.
Consequences of a Reckless Driving Conviction
In addition to the serious penalties associated with a reckless driving conviction in Virginia, this offense has another serious consequence: it results in a criminal record. In other words, a person who is convicted of reckless driving must bear the burden of a past criminal conviction, which can make it difficult to find certain types of employment and to obtain life or auto insurance. Also, a reckless driving conviction stays on a driver’s DMV record for eleven years. Therefore, it is advisable to seek legal assistance immediately following a reckless driving arrest.
Contact a Virginia Criminal Defense Lawyer
If you are facing reckless driving charges in the state of Virginia, you need an experienced criminal defense attorney in your corner. At Walker Jones, PC, our talented and experienced criminal defense lawyers will mount an aggressive defense on your behalf. When you come to us for help, we will do everything in our power to obtain a successful outcome in your Virginia reckless driving case. Please contact us to schedule an initial meeting with a knowledgeable criminal defense attorney.
Posted in: Criminal Defense