Reckless Discharge of a Firearm in Virginia
- Posted on: Aug 11 2023
Virginia takes weapon charges seriously—very seriously. The state takes particular issue with those who discharge weapons in an illegal manner. If convicted of reckless discharge of a firearm in Virginia, a defendant faces incarceration, fines, and possibly the ability to own a firearm in the future. Therefore, if you have been charged with reckless discharge of a firearm in Virginia, you should contact a criminal defense attorney who will aggressively advocate on your behalf. In this article, we discuss the crime of reckless discharge of a firearm in Virginia.
What is Reckless Discharge of a Firearm?
Reckless discharge of a firearm in Virginia can be charged as either a misdemeanor or felony. Specifically, a person can commit this crime in the two following ways:
- Misdemeanor: A person can be charged with a Class 1 misdemeanor if he or she recklessly handles a firearm in a manner that endangers another person’s life, property, or limb. A person does not actually have to discharge a firearm to be convicted of this crime.
- Felony: A person can be charged with a Class 6 felony if he or she handles a firearm in a way that is so wanton, gross, and culpable that it demonstrates a reckless disregard for human life and results in another person suffering significant and permanent physical impairment.
Reckless Discharge of a Firearm Penalties
Anyone convicted of recklessly discharging a firearm in Virginia faces harsh penalties. When sentencing a party convicted of this crime, the judge considers several factors, including the defendant’s criminal history. Below is an overview of possible penalties for reckless discharge of a firearm in Virginia:
- Misdemeanor: A person who is convicted of misdemeanor reckless discharge of a firearm faces up to 12 months in jail and a fine of up to $2,500.
- Felony: A person who is convicted of felony reckless discharge of a firearm faces up to five years in prison and a fine of up to $2,500.
- Reckless discharge of a firearm while hunting: In addition to the above penalties, if a person is convicted of misdemeanor or felony reckless discharge of a firearm while hunting, he or she faces the loss of his or her hunting license and privileges for up to five years.
Contact a Virginia Criminal Defense Lawyer
If you have been charged with reckless discharge of a firearm in Virginia, you need an aggressive and experienced Virginia criminal defense attorney on your side. At Walker Jones, PC, our experienced criminal defense attorneys have years of experience defending clients against criminal charges in the state of Virginia. When you come to us for assistance in fighting your criminal charges, we will mount an aggressive defense on your behalf and guide you through the Virginia legal process. Please contact us to schedule a consultation with a criminal defense lawyer.
Posted in: Criminal Defense